Simple Blonde Partial Mash for review

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jonell

Reaction score
Bear with me for formatting. This is my first post, though I've been brewing hybrid extract for about two years, and searching this site for my needs for about ~18 months. I thought I would share a recipe, get some feedback, and maybe ask a question or three from our more experienced brewers.

This recipe is a partial mash version off of

https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f62/simple-blonde-ale-extract-54953/

which I made last year, and it was one of my better brews.

The goal for the mash is partial mash 2 gallons for 30-40 minutes (152°F), then sparge deathbrewer-style with 1.5 gallons (170°F) and come out with ~ 3 gallon boil volume and then a ~2.5 gallon top-up into the fermenter.

4 lbs 8.0 oz Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 1 52.6 %
8.0 oz Caramel/Crystal Malt - 10L (10.0 SRM) Grain 2 5.8 %
4.0 oz Carapils (Briess) (1.5 SRM) Grain 3 2.9 %
3 lbs 4.8 oz Extra Light Dry Extract (3.0 SRM) Dry Extract 4 38.6 %
0.75 oz Willamette [5.50 %] - Boil 60.0 min Hop 5 8.2 IBUs
0.75 oz Willamette [5.50 %] - Boil 20.0 min Hop 6 5.0 IBUs
1.00 Items Whirlfloc Tablet (Boil 15.0 mins) Fining 7 -
0.50 oz Willamette [5.50 %] - Boil 1.0 min Hop 8 0.2 IBUs
1.0 pkg Safale American (DCL/Fermentis #US-05) [50.28 ml] Yeast 9 -

Gravity, Alcohol Content and Color

Est Original Gravity: 1.057 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.013 SG
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 5.8 %
Bitterness: 13.4 IBUs
Est Color: 4.1 SRM

I upped the gravity to account for inevitable lower efficiency from first-time partial mashing.

Questions!: