Rootbeer Questions and General Recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rootbeer!

Reaction score
Hello, everyone! I'm relatively new to the Root Beer brewing scene and I've been going through different recipes trying to figure out that recipe that'll be my go-to for making Root Beer. General Recipe I used:

MAKES 3 GALLONS
12 Qts Water
36 oz. Honey
6 Star Anise (TRY WITHOUT)
3/8 tsp. Salt
3/8 cp. Sarsaparilla
3/8 cp. Sassafras
3 cp. light brown sugar
1 1/2 cp Vanilla Flavoring
3/8 cp. Chopped Raisins
3/8 tsp. Nutmeg
1/8 tsp. Champagne Yeast (per gallon)
4 oz. Maltodextrine

I add maltodextrine to reduce the "watery" part of the Root Beer.

Now I have two questions:

1. Does Root Beer taste different AFTER being preserved for a number of days, or is it generally easy to tell after the ingredients have finished mixing?

2. My brew that's currently being preserved using the above recipe (but much smaller to test) tasted a bit too much like honey. I'm thinking of reducing the honey amount by half.

3. Does boiling/simmering change the taste at all when done differently?

=======================================================
Apparently, others have used the recipe I've given with great results (same methods of brewing) but I'm concerned I'm doing something wrong.

Thanks to anyone who replies!

First, welcome to the forum!

I make RB from extract with a few additions, but I think the principles will be the same for your Qs.
1. I find the flavor does mellow a bit after it sits a few days, though it tastes good as soon as I carbonate it.
3. I would not recommend boiling, as that will drive off some of the aroma/flavor.

First, welcome to the forum!

I make RB from extract with a few additions, but I think the principles will be the same for your Qs.