Recipe help, Gordon Biersch Marzen

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

VolDoc

Reaction score
Hey all,

In the next few weeks I am going to attempt a Gordon Biersch Marzen clone (I know, I know but taste is subjective)!

However, I am fairly new to All-grain after making the switch from extract and I had some recipe questions. The pasted section below is from Dan Gordon's Marzen recipe found here:

http://www.homebrewersassociation.org/homebrew-recipe/dans-marzen/

Decoction mash with rests at 104°F (40°C), 126°F (52°C), 144°F (62°C), 155°F (68°C), 162°F (72°C). Step by pulling 25% of mash, boiling for 10 minutes, and remixing with main mash to hit step temperatures.
Mash out at 172°F (78°C). Boil 90 minutes. Ferment for seven days at 48°F (9°C), lower to 43°F (6°C) for four days, then reduce temperature by 2°F (1°C) a day until at 32°F (0°C).

Lager for six weeks.

So my questions are:

1. There is no mention of how much water is used for the mash. Should I assume 1.25 quarts per pound?

2. Also, I have never done a decoction mash. I have read John Palmer's book but I am still a little confused. Can someone please explain the above recipe procedure a little better?

3. How long do I let it sit for each step? How long do I let it mash at 172?

4. It states to boil for 90 minutes. Is this a normal boil time? Most recipes I have seen are a 60 minute boil. The reason I ask is because it says to add hops for 60 minutes in the boil. Do I boil for 30 then add the first hop addition and boil for 60?

5. Last question I promise! It says lager for 6 weeks. Does that include the approximately 14 days or so for fermentation while stepping down the temperature?