Prosit! Registered Student Organization at the Univeristy of Arkansas

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Razorbrew

Reaction score
I am a grad student at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville. I was recently having a discussion with a fellow grad student about home brewing. I said that we should start a student group about brewing and beer judging. He told me that would never happen. I love a good challenge! So, I researched the possibilities and discovered there were no rules against the type of organizations that could be formed as long as they didn't break any rules in the student handbook.

To make a long story short (if that's possible at this point). Prosit! (German cheer for good health) was approved in late December, and just received a little over $1000 in student fees to put on 2 educational events this semester. The money can't be used for beer, but it will pay for everything else.

Andy Matthews
President, Prosit!

Good job! Be careful about any beer being served. Campus police or the state ABC might show up and shut it down. I seem to recall that happened to a group hosting an event on campus in Ohio a couple years ago. Even though they had all the appropriate permits the campus fuzz decided to shut them down anyway. I forget the details but there were threads here about it. You might want to take a look.

Good job! Be careful about any beer being served. Campus police or the state ABC might show up and shut it down. I seem to recall that happened to a group hosting an event on campus in Ohio a couple years ago. Even though they had all the appropriate permits the campus fuzz decided to shut them down anyway. I forget the details but there were threads here about it. You might want to take a look.