Plate chiller baking for maintenance reasons

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Homer

Reaction score
Been searching around and seems like a lot of people bake their chillers, but some people are saying that this could possibly bake on some crap and render the thing useless (for sanitary reasons). I have a few years worth of brewing through my Duda diesel and wonder if I should actually give this a shot. I typically back flush with hot pbw after brewing. Also, will baking destroy the big label affixed to the top of the chiller?

Thanks

I have no experience baking chillers but from my little cast iron refinishing experience I can assume any residual sugars not flushed out would get baked on much like seasoning on a skillet (polymerization??). That said, an easy peasy way to remove decades (or more) of baked on seasoning from a skillet is a good soak in a lye bath... but I have no idea what kind of reaction lye will have with copper/copper brazing.

(edit)
Holy **** that reminds me I have a skillet sitting in a lye bath in the back of the shed now. It has to have been sitting in the bath for 3 years now!! I'll have to check it after work... sorry for the derailment.

John Blichmann says don't do it. Don't use lye either. Hot water and PBW was his instructions to me for cleaning when I brought it up. I did bake mine once, no ill effect, but I did end up having to flush out a bunch of black flakes and stuff.

John Blichmann says don't do it. Don't use lye either. Hot water and PBW was his instructions to me for cleaning when I brought it up. I did bake mine once, no ill effect, but I did end up having to flush out a bunch of black flakes and stuff.

He would be the man to ask. Did he elaborate to what was wrong with using lye?