Plastic or Glass?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

WildWingsBrewery

Reaction score
Hello,

I'm new to the whole home brewing thing, but I'm absolutely in love with it already! :D I've got a Mr. Beer American Classic Light currently in its eighth day of fermenting and I can't wait to bottle it in a couple more weeks. I've got a couple questions on bottling, though.

1. Where does everyone stand on the whole plastic vs glass thing?

2. Which of the two would be best for a Chocolate Cherry Stout that may be stored for months, a year or more?

The choco/cherry is my next project. Mr. Beer St. Paddy's Irish Stout recipe w/ .5 cup unsweetened cocoa and a few cans of cherries added. Any help is greatly appreciated, maybe tips on the Stout, too?

Cheers,

Dakota :mug:

I used PET bottles for one brew a long time ago, and never had any issues. With that said... I'll never do it again. Call me pretentious, but it just feels cheap. I prefer the solid weight and feel of a glass bottle.

I don't think there's any technical reason to not use plastic for short term storage. Glass is impermeable to oxygen, so if you're going to age a beer, use glass bottles, and avoid the twist-off variety. For a beer that you want to drink right away (Hefe, IPA, etc), PET bottles should be fine. They hold soda, which typically has a much higher bottling pressure than beer.

I'm definitely a glass fan, not sure why anyone would bottle in plastic (unless you're just getting your feet wet and re-purposing some soda bottles for your first few brews).