Philippine based Brit homebrewer, thinking about a microbrewery

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

blueseamonkey

Reaction score
Hello all.

I am a British doctor living and working in the Philippines. I have made my own wines for years but only recently started making beers - initially with extract but after my last supplies run out I will be moving to AG brewing.

There's only about 15 homebrewers (making beer, as opposed to wine) in the whole country, plus 2 tiny microbreweries and 1 brewpub. But interest in craft beer is beginning to take off, with mainly American craft ales being sold at very high prices in a growing number of places. Both microbreweries sell out each batch before they can brew another.

For that reason (and because I'm enjoying it) I am considering setting up my own microbrewery as well. Not immediately, in perhaps a year or 2 - when I am a bit more experienced with homebrewing.
I've been doing market research in the area I plan to setup and it looks like I will have no problem at all getting bars/resorts etc to stock and sell the beer. The legal setup is not too tricky here, or not much more difficult than setting up any other kind of business anyway. The bulk of the ingredients will have to come from China as there's nothing available locally, (with specialty hops and malts from Europe or the US,) but according to the other homebrewers here, the quality of the Chinese malts and hops are pretty good.