Parti-Gyle and No Boil SMaSH

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stretch1991

Reaction score
So I want to experiment with two styles of brewing I've never tried before. It won't be traditional by any means but it's still an interesting concept I want to fool with. The thought is for a smash style ale, the first beer I want to be a higher gravity but maybe not quite a double IPA but for the second I want to do a no boil beer

I havnt finalized a recipe for a grain build (I would appreciate help!) but I know I want to use Vienna but possibly marris otter.

The goal is the get a decent amount of wort for the primary beer (maybe 6 gallons and let it boil down to 5 due to my pot being a 7.5 gallon) but do an additional 5 gallon with remaining wort. My thoughts are to bring 7 gallons of water to mash temp and mash with the appropriate amount of water, then do the math from there on how much sparge water I'm going to need to get another 3-5 gallons of a second beer.

Since the second beer is no boil I want to hop the sparge water but instead of it being a traditional sparge I was thinking more of a mash out. So it allows me to get a little more bitter from the hops (still only aiming for a 20-30 ibu max beer) with the higher temp. Hold it for a currently undetermined amount of time. Then pull that wort and hop it while it cools down to yeast pitch temps

I'm doing a citra Vienna SMaSH tomorrow, I'm thinking the primary beer can be a cascade smash but for this second beer and the overall amount of suggested grains I am all ears!