Offgassing cider? Odd smell.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Garfield43

Reaction score
Hello.
I am a super green newb at homebrewing, been at this cider making about 6 months.
My usual routine is to add yeast, nutrient and clarifier enzyme to a container of store bought juice, let it set until it quits bubbling and or gets a specific gravity of one or less. I would then cold crash it, transfer it to clean containers, backsweeten with concentrated apple juice, let it carbonate and then move it back in to the fridge.

I injured myself after the cold crash phase so it set in the fridge for at least a month this time.
Looked fine, no mold, yeast had settled to the bottom. I siphoned it in to a keg (my first time trying that) and it smells different than the other batches. Not rancid or bad just earthy and yeasty. I have the keg setting with the lid off and a trash bag covering the opening. I'm hoping that will give the gas a place to go and keep the bugs out.

I have a trap (the thing you put water in to let gas out) Should I rig that up to the keg and let it set a day or before I seal it up so it can carb?
If so should I put the trap on the in or the out of the keg?
I have a floating ball on the out if that makes a difference.
I have not backsweetend this batch yet. I don't want to waste the AJ concentrate if this batch is bad. I don't think it is.

I would apricate any and all suggestions.
Thanks!

Is the taste ok? Its hard to decide what to do by smell alone. I'd close the keg up and put some CO2 in there to keep oxygen out.

I have it closed and a trap connected to the gas port.
Will it naturally carb with CO2 in there?
I thought yeast needed oxygen.