Novice kegging question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MusicLife

Reaction score
So im new to kegging. I have a double primary regulator outside of keezer. First is going to a keg and 2nd i want to use to get my homebrews carbed. I know this is prolly a dumb question but if the 1st regulator is set lower can the 2nd be set higher at say 20 psi?

I have tired to force carb my kegged home brews. 30 psi and rolled it for awhile and was gonna set it in my keezer ar 20psi overnight. I have attached pictures of my outside setup and inside....

The 2nd primary regulator goes to the manifold.

Appreciate the assistance!

Attachments

• 20201210_182253.jpg
    20201210_182253.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 48
  • 20201210_182709.jpg
    20201210_182709.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 43
Do not roll or shake a keg at 30 psi. Bad juju.
That will likely lead to epic over-carbonation, and then you'll have to start another thread on how to fix that ;)
If you're going to shake, use the "chart pressure" for your beer temperature to hit the desired carbonation level, as found in our favorite carbonation table, knowing that 2.4 volumes of CO2 is about right for most ales.

Otoh, if you want to attempt a "burst carbonation", use 30 psi for 24 hours, then reduce to "chart pressure". It'll take a few days for the carbonation to level out but that'll still be almost two weeks quicker than using chart pressure sans shaking...

Cheers!

Ok thats what i was thinking. The way the keezer is setup, i got it 2nd hand, isnt really setup for that but i just wanted to double check lol