Northern Brewer Block Party Amber Ale modifications

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sajjeev

Reaction score
I just started a batch of the Northern Brewer Block Party Amber Ale yesterday. While reading about the end product online, a lot of people say it is underwhelming at best and that it is watery and could use more hops. Is there anything that I could do now to make it a little better? I was thinking if I should dry hop but I have no clue if it is a good idea or what/how much hops I should add. I am a total newbie and would appreciate any inputs on this. Cheers 🍻

Oooh, I made that one. It was my first brew! I really liked it, and thought it was a tasty, simple, and balanced amber ale.

I'd let it go as it is, but if you're dead set on adding something to it, I would toss some cascade in it. Cascade goes really well with amber ales, in my opinion. But again, I would drink it as the recipe is written.

While reading about the end product online, a lot of people say it is underwhelming at best and that it is watery and could use more hops. Is there anything that I could do now to make it a little better?

One thing that is pretty easy and should get you better beer is to let it have time to fully mature. Many people open the bottles a bit too early and they then get beer that tastes thin and watery. Try giving this beer 4 or 5 weeks in the bottle.

Thank you so much for your input guys, I shall add the cascade (I like my beers hoppy). When do you think I should start the dry hopping? I am planning to let this go for three weeks in the primary and then keg it to force carbonate. How do I let the beer mature if I am kegging it?