Noob, Put my mind at rest please

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mortal888

Reaction score
Hello!

I'm a noob. I brewed a mini mash batch with a friend of mine and we made a really nice batch of stout. I have now gone it alone.

For my first batch, I decided to make this one....
Austin Homebrew Supply

My mentor said that if i follow the recipe exactly, I shouldn't need to worry about using the hydrometer. So I didn't.

I followed the recipe to the letter, boiled, cooled, double pitched, put it in the primary. Seemed to go about right, yeast went crazy the first few days and slowly died down after that. As per the recipe, switched it to the secondary after 7 days. Had some trouble getting the airlock to stay on when I put it on. Not much activity i can see during the secondary, but kept a bit of foam at the top so optimistic.

7 days later (yesterday) I bottled. I was thinking that for a 7% beer it should smell a little stronger, but being a noob i kept going. Midway through the bottling, i sloshed some on my hand and licked it. Then got nervous. It's sugary and very little alcohol flavor. It's supposed to be a winter warmer.

I'm now worried that I'll have a sweet low ABV beer. Since I didn't take hydrometer readings, I can't troubleshoot. My mentor said that he hardly ever takes them and just follows the recipe, never any problems.

So I start reading. I find something else I might have done wrong. We had a cold snap right before I put it in the secondary and my house ranged from around 58-65 for most of the secondary. Never heard that it was best at around 68-70 degrees. I kept it in a storage closet with little airflow, so I'm hoping that was minimized but now I worry my yeast went to sleep.