Noob here, brewing my first batch (cider)...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jpar345

Reaction score
Hello all, seems like a good community to shoot the shat about beer, drinking, cleaning up messes and sweet sweet inebriation. I picked up some equipment Saturday and yesterday started my first batch. I decided on cider both since fall is coming and I wanted to try something easy for my first go around just to get the hang of the process and the equipment. I got a simple recipe using 18 cans of frozen apple juice concentrate, 3 1/2 gallons of water and I'm using Windsor yeast (mainly because there were so many types of yeast and I was too much of a chicken**** to ask I just picked one). It's currently in the fermenter and when I checked this morning there were a few big bubbles here and there so I guess I didn't screw things up too badly (yet). Anyway, I'll update this thread with my results and thought I'd check in, so... hello!

:fro:

Awesome, let us know how it goes! I am looking for an easy Cider recipe for an upcoming brew

Don't forget that your cider is NOT going to have any sweetness unless you backsweeten, cold crash before fermentation is complete, or sweeten with fermentables. Your apple juice concentrate will just ferment dry, and your cider will taste more like a cheap dry white wine.

I've done quite a few ciders, and I think backsweetening produces the best results. Unfermentables, like splenda, just don't taste right, and cold crashing to maintain sweetness is a very inexact science and sometimes difficult to get right. If you need more info on backsweetening, let me know.