No Hydrometer, Krausen Fell, Bubbles Slow, What Now?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DxS12

Reaction score
Hi HomeBrewers,

First time brewer here and this forum has been extremely helpful so far. I do have a quick questions which I'm hoping someone can help me out with. I recently brewed a batch of Irish Red Ale. Being a newb, I didn't purchase a hydrometer or anything to regulate the temperature of my carboy. The yeast seemed pretty active 24 hours after I start fermenting, but 4 days into the process, the Krausen fell and the bubbles in the airlock have really slowed. I'm now on day 5 and I get one or two bubbles per minute. The weather has fluctuated quite a bit here in the last few days. Without this equipment (which I have since purchased), what's the best way to gauge when I'm ready to move to the secondary?

Thanks for you help!

Without temperature control the yeast will produce diactyl in large amounts.
Yeast will eat this chemical after all the sugar is gone but
ONLY IF YOU GIVE IT THE TIME TO DO SO.
I personally let everything sit in primary for a month.
The yeast at the bottom of your bucket/carboy will NOT negatively affect your beer that early.

Long story short---
wait 3 more weeks then go to secondary.

And I'm assuming your Carboy isn't covered if you can see all this going on so cover it up with a sweater or something. Light is beer's kryptonite.

And wait a few weeks. Waiting pays off in the finished product and post some pics of your first homebrew when it's done!

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

Now you buy a hydrometer. I cannot stress that enough.

edit: I have since worked on my reading skills. Brew on!