Newbie brewing wine with mr beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Valor

Reaction score
Hey guys, nice forum wish I had found it sooner. Anyways let me introduce myself, my name is David and I've been brewing for a few months with a mr beer brewing kit that i received as a gift. It's pretty fun and I've brewed 6 different beers already and just took my first attempt at wine (in the fermenter right now). Anyways I found a simple recipe for homemade wine and decided to try it. This is what i used, 8 cans of frozen welch's frozen grape juice concentrate, about 1 1/4 cup of sugar, water, and brewing yeast that i had sitting around for a few months. Together the whole thing comes out to a little over 2 gallons of liquid. Now usually when I brew mr beer's beer I see fermentation start in 12 hrs or so, with this wine its almost been 24 hours and I do see some activity but very little. There are very few bubbles and I am wondering if there is enough sugar from the grape juice and sugar to ferment with the amount of water I put in. I am thinking it may be taking awhile to get started bcuz the yeast was a few months old and maybe the liquid wasnt warm enough when I put the yeast in, the liquid was prolly lukewarm at best. Anyways any comments would be appreciated.

Valor

It's possible that there's enough preservatives in the grape juice that it is inhibiting your yeast from working.

Even if it did ferment, you do know that it's still going to taste just like Welchs grape juice (with alcohol when your done? :cross: