New member from MN

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

najel

Reaction score
Hello!

I am a newbie to homebrewing and of course discovered these forums. I have already found tons of useful information on here (some if which I should have read before I put together my equipment kit).
I am currently going to school in Mankato, MN, and I am originally from Bielefeld, Germany. I have always been quite interested in how beer is made and decided to start making it myself when I discovered we had a homebrew store in town here.
My first beer was a Munich Helles from a kit, which I royally screwed up by underestimating how much water I will lose in the boil and forgetting the fact that I am really not equipped for lagering. The beer was still pretty taste though. Right now I have a batch of Hefeweizen in bottles, should be able to pop one open next week or so. And then today we put together a batch of Hard Apple Cider.
Anyway, just wanted to say hi and I hope that some day I will have learned enough to be able to contribute and not just ask questions ;)

Welcome aboard the ship o' home brew scholars! Stick around, and you'll find all that you need in technical support, recipes, friends, and boundless knowledge. You're in the right place! Hope those Hefs turn out great for ya, and on the subject of Helles, that is exactly the bier I have on deck. Bought my grain bill for it yesterday. Right now I'm drinking my version of a Vienna Lager, and it is OUTSTANDING!! So good luck, welcome, and happy brewing!

Thanks for the welcomes! I am quite excited about the Hefe. It is probably my favorite style, it's just so refreshing yet has good flavor. That will probably be my last kit, so from now on I will try putting together my own recipes. I am already hooked.