New guy with some questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Chambers

Reaction score
hi everyone! I am new to this hobby, I am a university student who recently had the pleasure of backpacking around the eastern provinces of Canada and got obsessed with microbrewed / brewpubs / homebrewed beverages and have decided to try it out myself.

so I decided on some wine as my first experiment, then hopefully some cider when my buddies dad can toss some apples my way from his farm. I just have a few questions.

I picked up some potassium metabisulphite, 2 23 liter carboys, and 2 airlocks the other day. Is campden tablets better? Is there anything aside from obvious cleaners I shouldn't use on the carboys that might mess up the process? I know fresh fruit is obviously the best way to go, but would there be problems with using frozen fruit from the grocery store? Is there a certain type of sugar i should use for adding to the wine, or will just the normal table sugar do fine?

I originally was going to just toss some mashed up fruit, water and extra sugar into the carboy with some yeast and just see what happens, but I figured this would be easier. Any help would be greatly appreciated! thanks!

hi everyone! I am new to this hobby, I am a university student who recently had the pleasure of backpacking around the eastern provinces of Canada and got obsessed with microbrewed / brewpubs / homebrewed beverages and have decided to try it out myself.

so I decided on some wine as my first experiment, then hopefully some cider when my buddies dad can toss some apples my way from his farm. I just have a few questions.