New guy from Rochester MN

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Greggy

Reaction score
Hi Guys and Gals,

I just joined yesterday because I just got a full beer kit and am ready to brew some beer! My kit came with a coopers draught, but I am going to buy a nicer kit because I don't want to wait 1 month to drink a coors light copy. haha. I look forward to learning quite a bit of info here.

Greg

Nice to see another person from Rochester on HBT! I just started brewing a few months ago and I'm hooked! Already brewed 30 gallons of beer and 5 gallons of Apfelwein.

welcome aboard, i USED to be a Rochester resident, just moved to Minneapolis at the end of August!

This is a super good forum for resources and questions.

Happy brewing! :mug:

drunkatuw said:
Nice to see another person from Rochester on HBT! I just started brewing a few months ago and I'm hooked! Already brewed 30 gallons of beer and 5 gallons of Apfelwein.

Awesome!! I plan on brewing as much as humanly possible. haha.

How was the Apfelwein? Do you buy your stuff locally?

Greg

well since i live in minneapolis now i buy directly from the Midwest Supplies warehouse.

the LBHS's in rochester are geared WAY more for wine than beer, and are alot more expensive as well.

Greggy said:
Awesome!! I plan on brewing as much as humanly possible. haha.

How was the Apfelwein? Do you buy your stuff locally?

Greg

The Apfelwein is pretty good, at first I hated it, but it's growing on me. It little drier than I expected and not as much residual apple flavor. I bought the yeast at VonKlopp brew show (HWY52N east frontage road) across from Menards north. But he was out of Montrachet yeast, but he suggestion EC1118 as a replacement. I bought some brown sugar at walmart and the apple juice at sam's club.