Need Help With Keggle Please

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JrZyBud

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Hey guys, Im new here ... kinda, this is my first post but I've been reading the boards for a few months now. I finally picked up a keg that Im ready to turn into a keggle but I have a few questions first. I looked all over the board and I couldn't find the answers so here goes ... Oh I'm pretty new to all of this, I just moved up to all grain. I'm using the cooler with manifold for my mash tun, eventually I want to build a single tier system. I have a friend who owns a weld shop so I plan on having everything welded too.

1. Do I need a sight glass on my keggle? What are the benefits and disadvantages to having one?

2. Do I need a thermometer on my keggle and again what are the benefits and disadvantages to having one? Do I need to put something around it on the inside of the keg, like a shield or something? Is it worth the money for one that has adjustable viewing angles?

3. If you look at Sabcos website they have a piece that is bent at 90 degrees attached to the ball valve ... what is that and what is it for?

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks guys!

Buddy

First off, welcome to the website, I joined about the same time you did it looks like.

anyways, I will give answering your questions a shot:

1. Sight glass is to see how much liquid you have left. If you are trying for a 5.5 Gallon batch, trying to time your boil to have 5.5 Gallons left when your boil time is up and have 5.5 Gallons marked on your sight glass. It is a whole lot easier than guessing or having it marked on your paddle like I do.