need advice/reassurance!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

benderbrau

Reaction score
Hi there! This is my first try at brewing.
I made the wort on Tuesday night, and by Wednesday morning the fermentation had started, and yesterday was at a steady rate of 1 bubble every 2-3 seconds. But sometime today, it stopped. I was under the impression that this first fermentation took a lot longer than 3 days, and am worried that something went wrong somewhere along the line...
I am afraid to open the fermenter, in case everythig is ok, and i end up screwing it up by opening it!
Also, there is a wierd smell coming from the fermenter, that is very hard to discribe, except all i can say is that it kinda smells like black olive juice. (briney/salty/sour) This doent seem right, but what do i know?
Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

can you post the recipie and how warm is it where you are fermenting?

I have had beers ferment out in less then 48 hours and I have had some take 4 months. fermenting time depends a lot on the recipie and the temperature.

I wouldnt worry about opening up the fermentor for a minute or 2 to check on your beer unless you are covered in fecal matter or you sneeze directly into the fermentor you'll probably be fine. A lot of fine beer is fermented in the open so a quick peek shouldn't casue you much concern.

As for the smell . . . well I have had MANY wierd stench and not so nice smells coming from my fermentors since I have started. I was worried one day and asked the guy at my LHBS about it and he had the best quote I have ever heard on the subject . . . "Sometimes you need to smell a little horse **** to grow a beautiful rose"

to sum it up RDWHAHB