My Immersion chiller build

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mrfocus

Reaction score
I've just finished my Immersion chiller, and wanted to ask a few questions.

This is my first time doing silver soldering, and despite having read quite a bit about it, it seems like my joints aren't as pretty as some that I've seen.

I've just finished cleaning it, first with dish soap, and then brushing it with some star-san (at double concentration, from what I saw Bobby_M said in another thread).

Here are some pics:

So what's your opinion guys?

I was thinking maybe wire brush and scrubbing?

Thanks

Looks like mine, if they hold water, they're fine. They're damn near impossible to get pretty.

This might sound crazy, but I have used ketchup to clean my copper before. I pour some on an old rag, coat the copper and let it sit. Wipe off and clean with soap and water thoroughly.

try it on a dirty nasty penny. it will look like brand new in a few minutes

This might sound crazy, but I have used ketchup to clean my copper before. I pour some on an old rag, coat the copper and let it sit. Wipe off and clean with soap and water thoroughly.

try it on a dirty nasty penny. it will look like brand new in a few minutes

Makes sense. Tomato paste: acidic. Vinegar: acidic. Salt: corrosive. All three are ingredients in ketchup.

OK, so now before I use it (Sunday or Monday), should I boil it in water to passify the copper? What about adding a little vinegar? John Palmer recommends cleaning it the first time with vinegar (I used star-san since I didn't have enough vinegar, altough I will do a vinegar soaking Saturday night).

Thanks for the quick replies.