My First Attempt at AG - And Questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

freyguy

Reaction score
So after a loooonng brewday yesterday (10am - 6pm), my first all grain batch is under my belt. Whew. :cross: My major issue is that I had a major stuck sparge. I was using my new AG kit from Northern Brewer. 10gal round rubbermaid cooler with their stainless false bottom. Somehow, a crapload of grains got under the false bottom. In the end, we had to use a sanitized piece of wire to keep unclogging the hose the entire time! Had to do it for the first runnings, and for the entire sparge! And it wasn't a fast flow either. It took forever. I suppose I could have transfered everything, cleaned it, and tried again, but I didn't want to risk messing it up too much. I don't think we stirred hard enough to lift the false bottom, but maybe we did. What are some pointers so I can be sure not to run into this problem again? The connection from the nipple to the false bottom is high temp vinyl hose. If I made it out of copper, it might hold down the bottom better. Is this reccomended? This was also a 5lb 2-row, 5lb wheat grain bill, but I added 8oz rice hulls to help the sparge. I don't think that compaction was the problem, just all the grains under the false bottom were i believe.