My All Grain Semi-Automated HERMS Build

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

minnino

Reaction score
I finally made the decision to get myself in home brewing and wanted to jump in head first and see where it takes me. After doing a ton of research on here and across the web I thought it would be pretty wild to try and build a HERMS system and get some computer automation in there. I am an IT nerd by day, and love working with my hands building things, so why not put both of those passions together, and in the end have beer to drink!

I looked into building an electric setup, but at my house I am unable to get the required power to my garage, and I am far from an electrician. I decided to use propane since it was readily available and pretty cheap. NG was an option as I have it in my house, but propane ended up winning in the long run due to portability. My original goal is to have a single tier frame, 2 chugger pumps, 2 low pressure propane burners, Blichmann kettles, and to have the temperature probes, gas valves and pumps controlled using a BCS-460 computer.

Most of my equipment has been purchased and a ton of it has been built. I have had some extra time on my hands and wanted to start putting my project on the forum and get feed back from other users. This forum has been invaluable in my quest to do this project build, and I wanted to do everything I could to give back as much as I can to everyone else. I will thank all the members in advanced for all the great knowledge I have gained along the way, I wish I could remember where all the bits and pieces I found came from so I could give those individuals props!