Melomels and other additives: Which stage

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hellsreach

Reaction score
I am BRAND new to brewing, but have a question.

As I understood it, when adding fruits and other additives to mead, you would normal add in the primary fermentation. I was at a meadery this last weekend, and the seemed to say that all of their additives are added to plain mead in the secondary fermentation.

What do you all do and what would the difference be?

I'm newer as well. I've heard brewing plain mead then essentially infusing it with more flavors in the secondary allows more control of the yeast's fermenting environment. Fruit can contribute nutrients, which is why I have added some dried fruit (raisins are very popular), but I don't expect a lot of flavor from them.

Another benefit is that you're not blowing off a lot of flavor from your additives during the fermentation. I've read that it can get pretty aggressive and it can cause some flavor to be lost (aromatics are the most mention that I have read).

People do both. I've chosen to do the majority of my additives after the primary.

I've asked this question myself on this forum and have read many opinions, pros/cons, on fruit in primary vs secondary. I add in primary and secondary in the same batch and in some batches I add in just secondary, but I never add fruit to just primary- I might add a different fruit in secondary, but never just fruit in primary. This is just my preference, it may not be yours.