Mango Wit Recipe Critique

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

means5104

Reaction score
5 Gallon Batch
Specialty Grains for Preboil
.5lb Torrified Wheat
.5lb 6 row pale malt

Steeped in Grain bag until water reaches 170 F.

Boil

6lbs Wheat malt extract syrup
1oz Tettnanger Hops (60 min)
.5oz Willamette Hops (10 min)
.5oz crushed coriander (10 min)
.25oz orange peel
end of boil

Pour wort over 2 pureed fresh mangos steeped in Vodka
Add Wyeast 3463 Forbidden Fruit

Primary for 2 weeks

Bottle for 2 weeks

Im sorry if the recipe is not in a correct format, as I have never written one for critique before. I am aiming to just get a little bit of sweetness and flavor from the mangos. And Im not sure how they will affect fermentation. But I'm shooting for a OG of 1.054 or so. With an final of 1.015. Any thoughts or suggestions?

You're going to need more than 2 mangos. Shoot for about 5-6 pounds of mangos, and I would cube them instead of puree. I personally like to cube and freeze them on brewday. Then once primary fermentation is starting to wind down, thaw them out and add them to primary. You'll have a much better flavor doing this.

Also, no need for vodka. Anything with a skin that is removed doesn't need to be sanitized. If you're worried....the freezing will kill off anything that could possibly be in the fruit.

Brewed today. Was a little darker in color than I thought it would be and was a little more hoppy than I anticipated, but this was the first recipe I designed from scratch. The hops should have a toned down effect after fermentation and secondary with the mangos. All I can do is wait now and see.