Malt liqour / beer question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bfgcdub

Reaction score
TL;DR version: I'm curious about making a beverage similar to Smirnoff Green Apple Twist which for the unfamiliar is a "malt beer".

Full story: I'm just getting into brewing so I don't know a lot yet. I've been reading HBT for a couple months now so I already have a huge list of different beers and ciders that I can't wait to try brewing. My wife has been fairly supportive (she is the one that bought me the starter kit for this upcoming Christmas) and I would like to see if it is possible to brew up something similar to her favorite drink of choice which is Smirnoff Green Apple Twist. I read the bottle and packaging and they list it as a malt beer. Now obviously it's not a beer by how I would've defined beer but that leads me to believe that it isn't a vodka mixed drink at least.

So I guess what I'm looking for is information and advise. Based on my very limited knowledge I'm guessing that maybe this is something similar to making a flavored liqueur with sugar and yeast but honestly I have no idea so I turn to you oh wise ones and I thank you in advance for your time and assistance.

And if I'm way off base don't feel bad about telling me so, I'd rather know I was wrong than continue wondering :)