Looking At Getting Into Kegging. Would Like Some Input.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Snark_Wolf_Brewing

Snark Wolf Brewing
Reaction score
This is probably an absolute total noob question that's been asked by countless forum users before me, but I would sincerely appreciate some input as I have zero experience with kegging. I don't have the floor space for a dedicated beer fridge, kegerator, or keezer, but after taking careful measurements, I have determined that I could easily fit two 2.5 gallon kegs on the bottom shelf of my existing fridge(move over milk and yogurt!) My current dilemma is that while I have the space for a 5 gallon batch of beer using 2.5 gallon kegs, there's no way I can fit a 5 pound CO2 tank and regulator into the fridge, and drilling holes through the door or sides of the existing fridge to run a line for CO2 is not an option, as it would surely provoke the wrath of SWMBO. I would love to get into kegging and force carbing my beer, moving away from bottling entirely. What options do I have?

Would it be out of the question to only put one keg (2.5 gallons) and the 5 pound CO2 tank and regulator in the fridge? Do you need two kegs in at one time?

(EDIT: 2.5 gallon keg and tank in fridge, put the remaining brew in bottles with carbonation drops)

Wouldn't necessarily need two kegs at once, but a 5 pound CO2 tank and regulator would be too tall and too big around to fit either on the shelves or in the door.

I would think that SWMBO would tire quickly of having your beer "junk" cluttering up the fridge. It's not only those awkward metal canisters, but gauges and hoses and fittings and taps... and the first spill in the fridge? Even worse, the first leaky liquid poppet that spews a layer of beer and foam along the fridge floor?!