Logistics of dough-in with BIAB

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shawn Lewis

Reaction score
Hey, all,

I'm new to all grain (batch #2 today) and newish to beer brewing period (maybe a dozen batches under my belt)

I'm doing a 100 degree rest with the bag in, no problem, (heat water to just over 100 degrees, add grains, stir, cover, take off burner, cover with towels) but then having difficulty getting to the right mash temp. Today, I found that having the grain in the pot (in the bag) while trying to re-heat to 140 degrees hinders things.

It seems like the grain in the pot impedes heat propagation through the water, so it is heating up at the bottom of the pot underneath the veggie steamer basket I have in the bottom to keep the bag from melting, but not up through the grain so much (that's what my probe thermometer says).

To deal with that, today, I took the grain out, after the 100 degree rest, drained it a little bit, reheated the water more easily, and then put the grain back in. But, the cooled grain really brought temps down when I put it back in, so then I had to keep heating it. I had to stir constantly, to keep the fluid moving (to enable heat to propagate through the liquid).

I ended up getting close to the temp I was shooting for, but it was not the sort of precision I like (in anything I do).

It was a pain in the butt.

Anybody have a easy method for dealing with this?

Last edited:
It seems like the grain in the pot impedes heat propagation through the water
Absolutely it does, to the point where I would recommend against single-vessel step mashing, unless you have some kind of recirculation system.