Load Switch?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

alowell

Reaction score
SO, I am starting to build the control panel for my brewery and I had a question about load switches that I was hoping you guys could help me with. I will have a 120V line running in on a 20A circuit. The switch would provide an ON-OFF function for power to the panel (think red and yellow ones) I was wondering about the ratings:

1. Do I just have to make sure the Amp rating is greater than 20A?
2. In terms of the number of poles in the switch, what does that mean? Does it matter?

I am not an electrician by any means and I will be having my electrician friend help me with the wiring. I just need to know what parts to order. Any help would be great. Thanks, guys.

Andrew

1. Do I just have to make sure the Amp rating is greater than 20A?
You want a switch rated for 20 or more amps and 120V.

2. In terms of the number of poles in the switch, what does that mean? Does it matter?
That basically describes the number of wires that you want the switch to connect/disconnect. For 120V service, there is one hot wire and one neutral wire. You definitely want to switch the hot, so a single pole is fine. If you want, you can also switch the neutral, but it isn't necessary.

Thanks, Walker. Another question about the poles. Does it matter if it is a switch with more than two poles. I saw one on ebay that was a 6 pole switch. I assume I would just only use one of the 6 poles?

Thanks, Walker. Another question about the poles. Does it matter if it is a switch with more than two poles. I saw one on ebay that was a 6 pole switch. I assume I would just only use one of the 6 poles?

No. It doesn't matter if it has more poles than you need. You simply wouldn't use the extra ones.