Need help to confirm wiring .

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ALAN C

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
OK I put this together from someone else's idea and changed parts to use for a few applications .I have been seeing the people on here being so helpful and smart so I am here for help . I am not an electrician or anything but I like to tinker. Can anyone tell me if it will work without destroying components . I will be using three wire and ground for power. The light blue is the Neutral wire. The orange wires are low voltage wires and not very heavy . Power is first routed through main disconnect from the panel box.The smaller fuse will (should) protect the PID and Timer . The larger will help with element load protection.
The unit will be connected to a 30 amp circuit with 8-10 gauge wire and double pole 240 volt breaker . One buzzer is used for the timer expiration event and the other is a high temperature alarm controlled by the PID. Light and fan switch self explanatory. Using the Auber PID with an 40 A SSR with one output used for the high temp alarm. The SSR is mounted on large heat sink and has fan under it mounted on nylon standoffs . Fan is powered by 120-12 volt transformer .