Lme vs. dme

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

juggabrew

juggabrew
Reaction score
So I'm a newbie! Just started 3 weeks ago and have done 2 BB kits. For the time being I'm gonna stick with extract brewing before going AG. I want to clone some recipes so I'm wondering if anyone knows if it would be better to use all LME or all DME?? I also like to have some specialty grains to steep

Also trying to locate an extract version of bells 2 hearted

Primary: BB red ale
Secondary: BB amber ale

I have done dozens of extract brews and I have never noticed any taste difference between the two. However, I do much prefer the LME. I often find LME to be a bit easier to work with. This is all completely my personal preference and I have no real science to back up which is better. I just find LME to be easier to work with.

No matter which you use, make sure you use the proper equations to to calculate volume of LME to DME! (or Vice Versa)

Welcome to the club!!! I try to only use DME unless there is no other option. The reason I use DME is because it darkens the wort less, it tends to be fresher, lasts longer on the shelf, so on and so forth.

Also on a side note get in the practice of adding 1/2 lb or less of DME per gal of water. IE: 6 gal boil add 3 lbs or less of DME. Then at flameout add the remainder of your DME and start to cool. This also helps keep the wort lighter during the boil.