Leaking post on ball lock keg

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rockindaddy

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm still fairly new to kegging and kegged a batch about two weeks ago and set the keg in my fermentation chamber until I'm ready for it. I just noticed a leak in the "out" liquid post with some beer residue leaking out. Does this need to be fixed? If so how? Or will it solve itself when I hook the keg up to my kegerator? Thank you!

IMG_20140621_112222_074.jpg

Yes that def needs fixed, hopefully it's just the o-ring around your liquid dip tube that needs replaced or lubed and re-seated, also could be that the post is just not tight enough. Depressurize your keg with the pressure relief valve on the lid or by pushing down on the center of the gas post. Grab a 7/8th or 11/16th wrench or socket (whatever fits your post) and remove the post (make sure it is depressurized or you will find out what a beer geyser looks like). Inspect your o-ring, the bottom lip of the liquid dip tube, the liquid post, as well as the male post affixed to your keg. Fix what needs fixed put everything back together and re-pressurize. Hope it's an easy fix cheers.

Edit: It almost looks like the liquid is running from the poppit in the center of the post (could be just the picture) if that's the case the o-ring on the poppit or the poppit itself could be damaged. When you remove the liquid post also take the poppit out and have a good look at it.

Yes, it does seem to be coming from the poppit. I've never taken one apart before so I guess it's time to dive in. Thank you for the input!

Play it smart and get a replacement (spare) so that the 'fix' is simple. Then analysis and repair of the part is not an urgent problem.