Kegging without a CO2 tank?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

yipp

Reaction score
I hope someone out there can help me. I'm new to the whole brewing and kegging process and may have jumped the gun a little. I have purchased my 2 corny kegs but the downside is that I won't be getting my co2 tank and regulator until April 2nd and now I've run into a little problem….

I have a 5gal batch in my primary that was brewed on Feb 25th. It’s a very simple Blonde Ale. I was planning on keeping my beer in the primary for 10 - 14 days (around March 10) and then moving it to a secondary. Now I just realized that I would have it sitting in the secondary for over 3 weeks if I want to use my new co2 tank to carbonate it. Since I don't want to do that, what would you recommend?

I don't plan to bottle it as I want to use the corny kegs. I've read a little bit about using sugar to carbonate in the keg as I would for bottles. What is the best method for doing this?

Also, is there a way I could avoid the carboy secondary and go straight to the keg as a secondary? Would that change the way I naturally carbonate it? Anything special I would have to do while it sits until I get my co2 tank?

To add to all of this, I was going to separate this batch equally into 2 secondary’s. I was going to leave half of it alone and add some chile peppers to the other for an attempt at a chile beer. I may scrap this idea if it makes things too complicated.

I appreciate any feedback on any or all of this!

I'm not sure on the sugar amount, but you can carbonate naturally in a keg. Letting the beer sit in the primary/secondary for weeks won't hurt it though. Also, I only use a secondary when I'm dry hopping. Otherwise I cold crash the primary after 10+ days and keg it!