Karl Strauss Hefe Clone? (Windansea Wheat)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

shmEk

Reaction score
Looking for anyone with very close clone on Karl Strauss' Windansea Wheat Hefenweizen. I've run nearly a hundred searches over the last 5 months and nothing.

I'm a noob to brewing, so was hoping to follow a vets recipe....though I have seen lots of nice hefe recipes in my searches. I really have searched A LOT before breaking down to ask for help here....finally a shameful cry for help...

Does anyone have experience with a close clone? I like the "thickness" of their hefe and the closest thing I can find commercial to theirs is Franziskaner, but its still different too. They have a serious cloudiness in theirs and here is there blurb in case the link above doesn't come through well with their age page to get into the site.

In the world of unfiltered wheat beers, what sets Windansea Wheat Hefeweizen apart is perfectly clear. We use a centuries-old pure strain of Bavarian yeast known for producing unique banana, clove, and vanilla flavors during fermentation. A mix of pale barley, white wheat, and Tettnanger hops gives the beer a full refreshing taste with no need for an orange or lemon.
LA County Fair2010
LA County Fair - Gold Medal Winner

stats
Alcohol by Volume: 5.1%
Color: 3 SRM
Bitterness: 12 IBU

And if no replies... I guess I'll have to just give it a try with what they have listed there in my inexperience.

Thanks all!