Is this a good brew pot?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kidnos1

Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm new to the home brew thing and am looking to buy a brew pot.
I saw this one at target and the reason I like it is because of the spigot. Does this look like something that would do the trick or should I go with a stainless steel one? Thank you!
Camp Chef Hot Pot (20 Quart) : Target

I can't imagine it wouldn't work, unless there is something wrong with the enameled finish. Perhaps someone with more knowledge can weigh in on that factor.

But other than that it looks good, so long as you are doing extract batches.

Personally, I use a propane fryer with the kettle that came with it. A propane oven and a 7.5 gallon kettle for 80 bucks? I 'll take it!

IMO, for the same price I would buy at least a 10 gallon aluminum so you can do full boils if you so choose to do. If you buy a 5 gallon you will be restricted to partial boils and may eventually be looking to upgrade.

I would recommend going for the turkey fryer. My local sporting goods store sells the burner pot combo for 50. Add a 30 dollar propane tank and you're all set. After 3 indoor brews my wife has completely signed off on getting equipment to move outdoors or in the garage.

I bought a cheap 7.5 gallon aluminum pot with a lid for 30 bucks at the local asian market. They store smelled awful but they had a bunch of pots at great prices.

As others may have implied, 20 quarts isn't big enough for 5 gallon batches unless you are doing a partial boil and topping off the fermenter with water.

Other than that, the pot looks fine.