Imperial Sierra Nevada (comments?)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Goocher

Reaction score
First post, total noob. I just finished brewing my second batch and I'm preparing for my third.

I originally was going to brew Midwest's Sierra Nevada clone, but have since decided to double the hops to 8oz and add an extra pound of light DME. It got me thinking though.... Why don't I just double the entire recipe to make an "Imperial Sierra Nevada" This would include 12lb Gold LME, 4oz Cascade, 4oz Perle (American), 1lb Caramel 10L, 1lb Carapils and Wyeast 1056.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

For double IPA styles it typically doesn't work out to just straight double a lighter recipe. If I were doing it, I would drop the carapils completely and maybe replace 1lb of the extract with corn sugar to make sure it finishes dry enough. 12 lbs lme is pretty high so you might want to drop that down to around 9.

Not to question somebody that's been doing it longer, but why would you drop the carapils and 3# LME? Just personal preference or you think I'll run into problems?

Not to question somebody that's been doing it longer, but why would you drop the carapils and 3# LME? Just personal preference or you think I'll run into problems?

You'll have a hard enough time getting a big beer like that to attenuate without adding more non-fermentable sugars. LME typically already has malt like carapils in the mix, so there isn't any need to add any more... especially on a big beer.

Awesome. That answers my question. I was kind of going for the "Double Dog Pale Ale" effect...

I've only brewed 2 batches (one bottled 5 weeks ago) and the other brewed last Sunday, dubbed my TEN beer. Brewed on 10-10-10 with 10oz hops and 10lbs LME.