I have a couple ounces of Summit. IPA?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cracked1

Reaction score
I have never used Summit before and I have exactly 2 ounces to kill. I would like to get an idea of the flavor of Summit but I don't want to do a SMaSH with it. It is a pretty high AA hop so I thought I might be able to do a decent IPA with it. Then I thought that since I only have 2 ounces maybe I should keep it in the APA range and do more later hop additions to get more of the aroma and flavor.

Anyways, I made an IPA recipe of sorts. Not a hop bomb but certainly within IPA specs. Any comments are appreciated!

Recipe: Summit IPA
Brewer: Wicked Chicken
Asst Brewer:
Style: American IPA
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (35.0)

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 5.00 gal
Boil Size: 6.13 gal
Estimated OG: 1.063 SG
Estimated Color: 9.2 SRM
Estimated IBU: 58.9 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 70.00 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
9.50 lb Pale Malt (2 Row) US (2.0 SRM) Grain 76.00 %
1.50 lb Vienna Malt (3.5 SRM) Grain 12.00 %
0.75 lb Cara-Pils/Dextrine (2.0 SRM) Grain 6.00 %
0.75 lb Caramel/Crystal Malt - 60L (60.0 SRM) Grain 6.00 %
0.50 oz Summit [16.50 %] (60 min) Hops 27.4 IBU
0.50 oz Summit [16.50 %] (30 min) Hops 21.1 IBU
0.25 oz Summit [16.50 %] (10 min) Hops 5.0 IBU
0.50 oz Summit [16.50 %] (5 min) Hops 5.5 IBU

0.25 oz Summit [16.50 %] (Dry Hop 14 days) Hops -

1 Pkgs American Ale (Wyeast Labs #1056)[Starter-1300ml]

Mash Schedule: Single Infusion, Medium Body, Batch Sparge
Total Grain Weight: 12.50 lb
----------------------------
Single Infusion, Medium Body, Batch Sparge
Step Time Name Description Step Temp
60 min Mash In Add 15.63 qt of water at 167.7 F 152.0 F