How to go about creating a product from scratch?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

udt89

Reaction score
I have an idea(s) that I would like to produce and sell related to homebrewing. Not reinventing the wheel, just improving on a couple existing basic items.

What's the first step? In my brain it's a drawing, then a patent. But I draw like a caveman. One idea is for a PET carboy.

Anyone ever try to do this?

I am a mechanical engineer. If it isn't to involved I'll create CAD drawings for a few beers. You can use the drawings to get quotes from manufacturers.

fifelee said:
I am a mechanical engineer. If it isn't to involved I'll create CAD drawings for a few beers. You can use the drawings to get quotes from manufacturers.

I assume these can be used for patents too? That would be awesome man if you helped.

I have an idea(s) that I would like to produce and sell related to homebrewing. Not reinventing the wheel, just improving on a couple existing basic items.

What's the first step? In my brain it's a drawing, then a patent. But I draw like a caveman. One idea is for a PET carboy.

Anyone ever try to do this?

PET Carboy?? In other words a Better Bottle. http://www.better-bottle.com/

You could crop pictures off of the drawing I make and use them in the patent application. If you look at patents the drawing are done in a rather specific way. Every patent relevant part needs to be pointed out and described. You could attempt on your own or retain a patent lawyer. They have people that are pros at cropping pictures and creating what the patent office likes to see.