How much wort can I boil on a stovetop?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ninkasi

Reaction score
I have been brewing extract beers for a few years. In doing so I boil about 2 gallons of wort on my stovetop and top off my wort to 5 gallons in the Primary.

I was thinking about moving into partial mash brewing but will need to boil a larger volume of wort. I do not have the capabilities to brew outside (on a burner) so I will have to continue to use my stovetop.

Question: what is the maximum volume of wort I can boil with on my stovetop to have a successful, efficient brew session? 4 gallons...5...15? (The key here is a volume that won't take all day to come to a boil) For those people who do their boils on a stovetop in the kitchen, what is the highest volume you have boiled? Was it successful? How long did it take? Thanks all.

Ninkasi said:
I have been brewing extract beers for a few years. In doing so I boil about 2 gallons of wort on my stovetop and top off my wort to 5 gallons in the Primary.

I was thinking about moving into partial mash brewing but will need to boil a larger volume of wort. I do not have the capabilities to brew outside (on a burner) so I will have to continue to use my stovetop.

Question: what is the maximum volume of wort I can boil with on my stovetop to have a successful, efficient brew session? 4 gallons...5...15? (The key here is a volume that won't take all day to come to a boil) For those people who do their boils on a stovetop in the kitchen, what is the highest volume you have boiled? Was it successful? How long did it take? Thanks all.

Depends on your range. Got a pro-series Viking range with 1,000,000 BTU's? Probably a lot. Got a small little electric? Probably a little.