How does this pale ale recipe look?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

arnobg

Reaction score
First extract recipe made from scratch, had some leftover Centennial from a kit left over so someone at a LHBS helped me put this together. testing in one gallon batch first. Did I mention I'm a noob so I could use honest opinions.

OG: 1.053
FG: 1.010
ABV: 5.6%
IBU: 51

1lb 4oz Light Dry Malt Extract
1.0 oz UK Crystal 60L
0.10 oz Centennial @ 60 min
0.10 oz Centennial @ 20min
0.20 oz Centennial @ Flameout Hopstand
0.50 oz Centennial Dry Hopped @ 7 days until bottling
5 g US-05 Yeast

1 week primary
1-2 week secondary

First extract recipe made from scratch, had some leftover Centennial from a kit left over so someone at a LHBS helped me put this together. testing in one gallon batch first. Did I mention I'm a noob so I could use honest opinions.

OG: 1.053
FG: 1.010
ABV: 5.6%
IBU: 51

1lb 4oz Light Dry Malt Extract
1.0 oz UK Crystal 60L
0.10 oz Centennial @ 60 min
0.10 oz Centennial @ 20min
0.20 oz Centennial @ Flameout Hopstand
0.50 oz Centeinnial Dry Hopped @ 7 days until bottling
5 g US-05 Yeast

1 week primary
1-2 week secondary

Do it all in the primary. Absolutely no need for a secondary here. Just pop the dry hops into the primary once fermentation is completed. Bottle 7 days later.

I'd increase the crystal malt to 3 oz. Will make it a little darker, add some flavor and head retention. Overall a more interesting beer. Just my 2c

Otherwise looks fine. I like your hopping schedule. Looks very tasty

Do it all in the primary. Absolutely no need for a secondary here. Just pop the dry hops into the primary once fermentation is completed. Bottle 7 days later.