Hops on north facing fence?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skoodog

Reaction score
Hey yall,

Newbie here who is in his first home in Austin and ready to embrace the exciting world of hops growing. I've been growing herbs and veggies for years but would like a little assistance from the pros as I plan for my six new Cascade and Chinook rhizomes to arrive.

My backyard is surrounded by a 6 foot fence and design wise the most optimal place to grow is a 30-40 foot stretch of empty wood fence that unfortunately faces due north (as opposed to the preferred south facing). The other side of the yard has heavy shade due to a lot of tree growth so its a non-starter to try growing there.

The question is, will the north facing fence work from a growth perspective? My t-beam posts will clear 10 feet so the horizontal growth will be in south facing sun, my only concern is until it gets above the fence line.

Any thoughts? Thanks in advance!

I don't have an answer but I'm interested in what others have to say. I have a similar situation; I'd like to plant on the north side of an outbuilding. The hops will have to climb up and over the roof, at which point they'll hit full sunlight and terminate at the roof peak. I just want to know how tough it will be to have them grow in the shade until they hit that point.

Hey yall,

Newbie here who is in his first home in Austin and ready to embrace the exciting world of hops growing. I've been growing herbs and veggies for years but would like a little assistance from the pros as I plan for my six new Cascade and Chinook rhizomes to arrive.