Hop Choice for Dry Hopping

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Skep18

Reaction score
I am pretty new to this and have come to the realization I may enjoy the flavors imparted by dry hopping. I'm a big IPA fan and have a 5 gallon batch almost a week into primary right now. I want to dry hop this batch, but am not sure which hops to choose. Unfortunately I don't have the IPA recipe with me as I bough the recipe from a LHBS, however, I recall is having mostly Simcoe with another German hop or something. I didn't take readings, but the recipe claims a 8-8.5% ABV.

Anyways, is it best to keep it in line with a hop already used int he boil or is using something not in the boil typical? I'm not a huge fan of grapefruit flavors, but more just a floral hop flavor.

Any advise would be much appreciated!

You can use any hop you enjoy for dry hopping - doesn't necessarily have to be one that you used in the boil at all.

While Simcoe is great as a dry hop (Pine/grapefruit tastes) it's probably not what you want given that you don't like grapefruit. Stay away from Cascade as well.

For a Fruity/Citrusy taste try Amarillo or Centennial (slightly orange).

For Floral as you want, something like Crystal or even Hallertau or Cluster would probably work.

If you want to experiment with various hops to see what flavours they provide, try the Bud Light experiment:

http://www.bertusbrewery.com/2013/03/dry-hopped-bud-light.html

He provides his own observations on what the various hops taste like as well. Great article.

Kal