Hi from Niagara

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GreenEnvy22

Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm from the Niagara region, on the Canadian side, in Ontario.

I'm new to brewing. I'm currently doing both wine and beer.

A few years ago my wife bought me a 1-gallon kit, it was all grains, no extract. It turned out incredibly well, but all that work for 6 bottles of beer didn't seem worth it.
I never got around to making more, even though I wanted too.
In 2012 we bought a house with a lot of muscat grape vines in the back yard. That year we picked the grapes and had a friend make them into wine for us. We got about 30 bottles which we split 50/50 with him. The wine was good, and I decided to make my own next time.
2013 and 2014 weren't good. We had very low yields and I didn't get the netting up in time so the little grapes there were got eaten by the robins.

For 2015 we had a great crop. We harvested on Sept 11th (I wanted to wait a lot longer to get more sugar but wasps were eating them like crazy). We got way more juice this time. From 280lbs of grapes we got 85L of juice. I didn't have near enough equipment for that so I went on to Kijiji (like a Canadian craigs list) and found someone selling 11 5-gallon carboys, a couple larger demijohns, and about 15 one-gallon carboys, plus stoppers, airlocks, etc.

So got that wine all going and I turned my attention to beer. I had picked up a couple kit cans of extract, one coopers and one another brand I can't remember.
The coopers was the real ale, but I didn't feel like doing just the basic kit. So I used the can of coopers, 1.5 KG of some amber liquid malt extract, 250g of dextrose. I also steeped 100g of crystal malt for 30 minutes, and then 10g of cascade hops for 10 minutes.