Help with gravity readings

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JollyMon

Reaction score
I'm a newbie to AG. Joining the ranks straight from Mr Beer. Just bottled my first 5g batch (Liberty Cream Ale from Midwest Supplies). My question is this...my OG reading was 1.040. After 13 days in primary my gravity had stopped at what I was reading as 1.000. Is that even possible? I cold crashed it and bottled anyways but now I am wondering if what I was seeing was right, wrong, crazy, or what? Of course a few weeks time will give me the answer to the most important question (do I have 5 gallons of drinkable beer) but I thought I eould seek some advise from my fellow brewing junkies.

Any thoughts?

I'll assume your using a hydrometer (if you're using a refractometer those final gravity readings will be off due to the alcohol). As for the readings you've got, first I'd check your hydrometer and make sure that it is reading correctly in plain, distilled water. It should read 1.000 in plain water at 60 degrees, but sometimes the paper inside can get moved around and it will read off. If it does, you can just adjust your readings based on how much if its off (for instance, if it reads 1.004 you can add .004 to all your readings).