help making a good german style wheat beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thesalmon

Reaction score
I am quite new to the world of brewing but in the last 2 months i have made three attempts at a weissbeer. all of which were drinkable but in my opinion not great. i am a big fan of schneider weiss and weihenstephaner and if i could get a brew something like those it would be great.

the first beer i tried was the coopers wheat beer that i followed the instructions exactly. the result was a very lite beer that was scraping 4% alc and lacked a bit of body. only 500g of dry malt and 300g dextrose was likely the cause of this.

i tried the same coopers kit again but replaced the 300g dextrose with 1.5kg lme and the 500g dme. the result was very sweet with a hint of cider to it! it was strange but not bad. a couple of people liked it alot but it was not a weiss beer.fg of about 1.013 i found too high.

my latest attempt used coopers again but this time just the 1.5kg lme. i also added a teabag of hallerteuer hops and used a safbrau wheat beer yeast. now this is a bit better but it still needs time to condition to really judge it. my first impression is a strong flavour from the yeast that almost overpowers the hops. this may change in time but either way im not convinced by the safbrau yeast.

is there a trick to getting a proper wheat beer? can any body recommend a recipe or at least a yeast. for my next brew im thinking of trying the muntons wheat connoisseur range instead of coopers as a base but i am unsure what fermentables i will use and what yeast to try.

any help or suggestions are very welcome and highly appreciated

I do German wheat beers often. Here are some suggestions.

1 - skip kits like Coopers what have you add simple sugars.