Help for first GF beer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vegas20s

Reaction score
I've been making dang good beer for around three years now. I have my system down and have pretty good basic recipe that I can tinker with to make different brews.

Alas I am trying to keep free from the gluten grains. I've pretty much switched over to ciders since they are so much easer to make but I want to have a beer once in a while so I am in need of a good basic recipe.
My basic "typical" beer recipe calls for LME plus a base malt, some crystals usally 20L and/or 60L and maybe a biscuit/carapils or flaked oats to be mashed.

After looking at many recipes and reading on what the different malts GF grains can be used for I am thinking of something that looks like this:

7 gallon batch:

8 lbs sorghum syrup
1 lb toasted oats
1 lb malted and toasted brown rice
(thinking of making my own, though I see that I can buy it here: norcalbrewingsolutions.com

I am trying to get the basic back bone of an moderatly hopped Pale Ale Or even an IPA.

Any thoughts/comments? Would I be better served using malted millet or buckwheat?

Millet will taste superior to sorghum but, it would require much more equipment.

I recommend going 50/50 sorghum and brown rice syrup. Then steep the oats and rice. I would use the biscuit rice malt from norcal. Grouse makes a great vienna millet malt now. Works great in my IPAs.

I will be using vienna millet, biscuit rice, and light crystal millet for my specialty grains in my next IPA.

Sorry. Steep before the LME is what I meant but, you already know that if you have been doing it for a while.

Also, I suppose you could do BIAB with millet. Some on here do it with great success.