Hello from Barrie Ontario

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hammy1983

Reaction score
Just wanted to say hi from Barrie Ontario.

Looking to start a small 5 gallon brew operation using wort to start. Any help or advice you can give me would be great

thanks

Hello and welcome to the forum from Nebraska! I am still new to this hobby/obsession myself so I understand how intimidating this can seem. One thing I have learned is it is only as hard as you want to make it!

Start simple with a few extract kits or recipes to get your process down before advancing from there. Sanitation and Fermentation temperatures will be the two biggest factors you want to focus on at first (and for the entire time you brew!).

I got a little ahead of myself when I first started and have found that it is much harder to troubleshoot a 'bad' batch now since I have so many extra variables involved and I am finding myself having to put the 'training wheels' back on.

Start simple, relax and have fun! This is the type of hobby where if you aren't having fun, you're not doing it right. This is a wonderful forum with many highly experienced members willing to help and teach. Glad to have you aboard!

If you haven't yet, pick up a copy of John Palmers "How to Brew" and give it a read, it will get you on a good path to start down. Cheers! :mug:

When I was youngster we often drove through Barrie and Orillia to get to my uncle's place on Lake Dalrymple. If we wanted beer we would have to go to the Brewers Retail in Orillia. Too cold up there for these old bones. Welcome.