growing your own barley

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LeftyRighty

Reaction score
(repeat from 'all grain ....')

does anyone know of a source for winter barley seed for malting/brewing?
just looking for a small quantity - an ounce to a pound.

lots of spring barley on numerous seed catalog sites, but no winter seeds.
I've been growing spring barley, for 3 years now, variable success, but want to try a winter variety
thanks

I'm sure you could get some from the USDA seed bank, but then you'd have to grow it up over several years to have enough to actually use for anything other than replanting.

I have purchased malting barley from Johnny's Seeds by the pound.

.yes, so have I, but all they have is spring-plant barley.
I'm looking for a good malting winter barley.

FYI the 'Conlon' strain (lot #352) from Johnny's Seeds, that I received and planted last year was contaminated with 'loose smut', an ugly black fungus that covers the seed heads. It is seed-borne only, generally not carried by soil or machinery, but still disturbing to see a few heads (probably less than 1+%) of my crop.
I cut off the seed spikes as soon as they appeared in-smut, hoping to avoid contamination of remaining crop.

Have you contacted your county extension agent? They know almost everything.

Get ahold of your county extension agent or visit the nearest farmers cooperative. The co-op I live near sell sacks of both 2-row malting barley and 6-row feed barley for planting. Winter barley is a common cover crop in many areas so a co-op should carry it around planting time. They usually only sell 50lb bags, but you will pay the same for 50lbs as you will for a few pounds from seed companies. I think a 50lb sack of fungicide treated seed was ~$25 last time I checked.