going to the not so lhbs today

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fluketamer

Reaction score
the lack of hbs in the nyc 5 boroughs is appaling. one in brooklyn thank god. ZERO in manhattan???. one in long island (so far out on the island it might as well be in another state). and a few in NJ.

im taking the trip to new jersey. 25$ gas and tolls still cheaper than shipping. and nothing like supporting a not so local hbs.
as a plus they also brew in house and have a decent taplist - perfect time killer for when the wife and kids are at the mall.

some goodies on my shopping list.

a case of swing tops for the mead i just made.
bottle tree - i have been kegging for a few years now and forgot what its like to bottle beer.
some eva tubing , an ounce or two of hops, likely 20-30 lbs of grain and of course a few nips of whatever stout they have on tap. hopefully they still have the 4 ounce sampler glasses.

anyone else feel like a 5 year old about to head to the toystore when they go to the hbs?

with so much online purchasing, brick and mortar shopping is like a mini adventure these days.

brew on!

i dont have any association and they arent sponsers so i dotn wish to post publicly. im not sure of the rules.
ill message you

there inventory grew tremendoiusly from precovid. they used to just sell kits and had a tiny room in the back with limited grains . now they have a huge inventory . hopefully thats a sign of increased interest in local homebrewing and not just all online business.

I hope it's not the place I tried when I first started associated with a very mediocre brewpub. I picked up a sack of Maris and when I got home, I realized it was 2 years past its best by date and when I opened it, half the malt was soaking wet.