Gelatin Finnings to Primary?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Justintoxicated

Reaction score
Quick question. This is my first time trying to skip a secondary. I'm on week3 of fermentation and I tried to cold crash the beer and there is still a light haze.

I think I can get a little more clarity if I add some gelatin as I have in the past.

I'm going to add it in to the primary instead of the secondary, but I don't think I can wait 4 days since I want to get the beer off the yeast cake. Would 2 days more of cold crashing with the gelatin be enough?

Also will I be able to harvest the yest still? There quite a healthy layer of yeast but if the finning will mess with it I'm ok with skipping the harvest this time around.

Any advice?

I don't know if it will affect the yeast at all, but I'm pretty sure you'll have better success if you rack cold beer onto the gelatin and keep it cold for a couple of days. If you just pour it in, it won't mix well and won't clear the beer as well as it could.

I don't know if it will affect the yeast at all, but I'm pretty sure you'll have better success if you rack cold beer onto the gelatin and keep it cold for a couple of days. If you just pour it in, it won't mix well and won't clear the beer as well as it could.

Hmm well never had a problem just adding it in before. Just move the carboy around a bit and it should mix ok. It looking a little more clear today but I guess I will give it one more day to finish.

Justintoxicated said:
Hmm well never had a problem just adding it in before. Just move the carboy around a bit and it should mix ok. It looking a little more clear today but I guess I will give it one more day to finish.